Tutorial: Irish Crochet & the Ribbed Edge

Sorry it has taken me so long to post this tutorial. I meant to put it up a couple of days ago and then life went all wonky. Found out this week that – on top of already being overwhelmed by work and training a new employee – the Other Half has to work twelve-hour Saturdays for the next three weeks. One of those weeks he has to work one of his days off, as well. So, needless to say, we’ve both been a wee bit stressed.

Now, in my last post, I posted a couple of photos of the leaves that I’ve been working on as well as a chart for the larger one. Both feature a ribbed edge stitch, the exact name of which I have no idea. I just wanted to post a quick tutorial for it, as it can appear to be trickier than it actually works up.

1) This trim is, essentially, worked backwards instead of turning when you get to the end of the row or round. Still working with your dominant hand, you twist the hook and insert it into your next stitch, twisting the loop on the hook as well.

2) The yarn you’re working with will be in front of your hook and your piece so you need to bring it over and cross the stitch you are working.

3) Once you’ve brought your yarn across your stitch, you wrap it under and over your hook counter-clockwise. Then simply pull it through the stitch as you would a normal single crochet to create two twisted loops on your hook.

4) Bring your yarn, again, counter-clockwise across your hook and pull through the two loops on your hook to complete your stitch. Continue working “backwards” and slip stitch with first ribbed stitch to join.

I hope this tutorial helps! If you have any questions, please leave a comment and I’ll get right back to you!

8 thoughts on “Tutorial: Irish Crochet & the Ribbed Edge

  1. Hey! I saw you followed my blog, and I came to look at yours :-) Very cool! I see you like Irish Crochet. Do you already know about the Antique Pattern Library? I shall tell you about it in case you don’t. It has a ton of books available free (old enough that copyright doesn’t apply!) Here is the Irish Crochet section: http://www.antiquepatternlibrary.org/html/warm/irishcro.htm and I would particularly recommend checking out the two books Artistic Crochet and Distinctive Crochet by Flora Klickmann.

  2. We have decided to open our POWERFUL and PRIVATE web traffic system to the public for a limited time! You can sign up for our UP SCALE network with a free trial as we get started with the public’s orders. Imagine how your bank account will look when your website gets the traffic it deserves. Visit us today: http://voxseo.com/traffic/

  3. I’m very happy to discover this site. I need to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to check out new things on your web site.

  4. The sports training routines Academy’s fitness expert Steve Teel took us through a 70 minute workout that included extensive stretching and hard core strength training. At times, I may be able to function at your top level of ability.

Leave a Reply

