Hoefnagel The Bread and Butterfly Pickle Amigurumi

I just wanted to pop in for a quick hello to introduce my newest friend – Hoefnagel, the Bread and Butterfly Pickle. He was a caterpillar for so long that he grew a little fuzzy but he finally got his wings over the weekend. Now, he’s free to enjoy a lovely (if slightly overcast) day in the garden. If only there were flowers to pollinate.

I have to admit that I was terrified to put him together. I am so thingy about symmetry and, let’s face it, butterflies are nothing if not beautifully symmetrical. I think I ended up spending a good three hours last night on just sewing together the wings and another forty minutes or so sewing the wings to Hoefnagel. It’s still not perfect but I’m going to have to learn to let go a little.

I also think he might be getting a sister eventually. Though I like him in his current colors (he obviously wanted to look as pickle-like as possible), I think a pink version would be cute as well.  For now, though, I need to work on writing up the pattern, complete with a few how-to’s (maybe even a diagram on piecing together the wings?). I also need to get him situated in his newest home, hanging over the herbs along my windowsill in the kitchen. I can’t think of a more appropriate place.

2 thoughts on “Hoefnagel The Bread and Butterfly Pickle Amigurumi

  1. This is awesome. I have a friend who loves pickles and this would be the perfect holiday present for her. Did you make the pattern yourself or did you buy it somewhere?

  2. Pingback: 11 Times Knitting & Crochet Found Inspiration in a Pickle (PLUS: original haiku by moi – dill with it!) | KnitHacker

Leave a Reply

