Rub-a-Dub-Dub Crochet Facial Scrub Pattern

I spent all of Wednesday cleaning and cooking since the Other Half was going to have a friend over. And I don’t just mean cleaning – I mean scrubbing the baseboards and dusting picture frames kind of cleaning. That is not my usual fare, I have to admit. So, the OH insisted I take Thursday off (I think he felt guilty, especially since he got a Moroccan lentil pie out of the deal).

I’m not really great at taking a day off, it would seem, because I spent all day making cheese and crocheting. I didn’t feel like doing much thinking when it came to crochet, however, and so I decided to make the OH a face cloth to use in the morning.  I just wanted something simple, square and nubby but thick enough to hold water (and something that would use up my cotton stash).  So, I’m sharing the pattern. Please let me know if it’s at all confusing!

By the by, the “rub-a-dub-dub, three men(maids) in a tub” nursery rhyme is a really inappropriate rhyme. However, as a kid I just thought it was about three silly & fully-clothed men taking a bath together. Hence the name of this pattern.

Rub-a-Dub-Dub Crochet Facial Scrub Pattern

Materials: worsted weight cotton/3.5mm hook

Finished Size: (approximately) 8.5in x 8.5in

ch 31

Row 1: turn, sc across – 30 sts

Row 2: ch 1, turn, insert hook into 1st st, yo & draw up loop, insert hook into next st, yo & draw up loop (3 loops on hook), yo and pull thru all 3 loops on hook, *insert hook into last st used, yo & draw up loop, insert hook into next st, yo & draw up loop, yo and pull thru all 3 loops on hook,* repeat from * to * to end, ch 1, turn – 30 sts

Row 3 – 30: repeat Row 2

Row31: repeat Row 2 to end, Fasten Off

Basically, the stitch is sc2tog but, in order to not decrease, instead of moving on to a new stitch, you work the last stitch worked together with the next stitch. Also, remember that, at the start of each row, you insert your hook into the very 1st sc (usually, when you chain 1, that chain counts as the 1st sc but not in this case).

Drop me a comment if you make one!

7 thoughts on “Rub-a-Dub-Dub Crochet Facial Scrub Pattern

  1. Can’t wait to try this! I love the buttercup yellow. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for “liking” my blog. I’m looking forward to reading some of your past posts.

  2. This is so simple and works great. Thanks for sharing, going to make great addition for Christmas baskets … All items are for a non profit organization….
    thanks again

Leave a Reply

